Chinese coins catalog and price guide


Coins of Empire of China (before 1912)

The first emperor Shi Huangdi united China under his rule, forming the Qin Empire (221-206 BC).

The second empire in Chinese history, called Han (206 BC-220 AD), was founded by Liu Bang, who came from the middle officialdom. This period is considered one of the most important periods in Chinese history, the Chinese themselves took their self-name from here (Han Chinese).

The Tang (618-907) and Song (960-1127) eras are commonly referred to as the classical period in Chinese history.

At the beginning of the 13th century, the Mongols united under Genghis Khan invaded China. They were expelled in the middle of the fourteenth century after a long struggle. One of the leaders of the rebellion came to power - the son of a peasant Zhu Yuanzhang, who founded the state of Ming (1368-1644).

The Qing dynasty (1644-1911), created by nomadic conquerors from Manchuria, built the last empire, maximizing the country's territory.
After a series of defeats in the Opium Wars, China was forced to enter into unequal treaties with European powers, opening its markets and placing its main ports under foreign control.

The Manchu dynasty was overthrown in the Xinhai Revolution (1911). The Qing Empire collapsed and the establishment of the Republic of China was proclaimed.



Cash coinageCash coinage


Dollar coinageDollar coinage



Coins of Republic of China


Republic 1912-1949Republic 1912-1949



People's Republic of ChinaPeople's Republic of China



Chinese Republic (Taiwan)Chinese Republic (Taiwan)



British Hong KongBritish Hong Kong (till 1997)


Hong KongHong Kong






Japanese occupation


East HopeiEast Hopei



manchukuo coinsManchukuo



Provisional Government of ChinaProvisional Government of China



In Chinese